Nobel Prize in Chemistry Honors Lithium-ion Battery Researchers


By Katherine Howell

John B. Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino are awarded the Nobel Prize in chemistry by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for their work on lithium-ion batteries. These scientists paved the way for rechargeable devices that we use in our everyday lives. 

Among the laureates is Dr. Goodenough, a professor at UT Austin, who we are proud to support along with battery researchers around the world with our industry leading high precision battery test equipment.

“The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019 rewards the development of the lithium-ion battery. This lightweight, rechargeable and powerful battery is now used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles. It can also store significant amounts of energy from solar and wind power, making possible a fossil fuel-free society” as said in the RSAS press release.

For more information regarding their work on lithium-ion batteries visit

Posted in

Arbin Team

Scroll to Top